skip navigation

Paralympic Winter Games | PyeongChang 2018

PyeongChang, South Korea | March 8-18

The Paralympic Winter Games PyeongChang 2018 will take place in PyeongChang, South Korea, between March 8-18. The sled hockey event will be conducted at the Gangneung Coastal Center.

The United States enters the tournament as the two-defending champions after claiming the gold medal at the Paralympic Winter Games Sochi 2014 and Paralympic Winter Games Vancouver 2010.


There are two tournaments prior to PyeongChang 2018 in which teams can qualify for the event.

The first is the 2017 International Paralympic Committee Sled Hockey World Championship, which will take place in Gangneung, South Korea, April 11-20, and see the top five teams automatically qualify for PyeongChang 2018. The United States, which has finished on the medal podium in six straight world championships, enters the tournament as defending gold medalists after claiming the 2015 event in Buffalo, New York.

Teams that do not receive a Paralympic bid at the world championship will have a chance to qualify by participating in a Qualification Tournament in late 2017.

Game Format

Each game will have three fifteen-minute periods with a fifteen-minute intermission. The rink must be at least 60m in length and 29m in width. Each goal is 1.2m in height and 1.8m in width.


For all games, the overtime will start with a sudden death overtime. If no winner is decided, the game will go to a shootout.


Group A Group B
Canada USA
Norway South Korea
Italy Czech Republic
Sweden Japan

Paralympic Home

Paralympic History

Media Details