skip navigation

Para Sled Hockey World Championship

About The Event

First sanctioned in 1996, the International Paralympic Committee Sled Hockey World Championship is an international event organized by IPC Ice Sledge Hockey.

The United States is the reigning world champion after claiming its record third gold medal at the 2015 IPC Sled Hockey World Championship in Buffalo, New York. Team USA previously won gold in 2009 and 2012 and is the only country to ever win back-to-back gold medals (2009, 2012). Additionally, the U.S. has achieved three other medal finishes, earning a pair of silver medals (2004, 2013) and one bronze medal (2008).

The event has been held eight times, including three times on U.S. soil (2000: Salt Lake City, Utah; 2008: Marlborough, Massachusetts; 2015: Buffalo, New York).

2017 Sled Worlds

Previous Sled Worlds

U.S. Event History

IPC Event History

Sled Worlds News

Team USA earns silver at 2017 Sled Worlds

04/19/2017, 6:15pm EDT