skip navigation

2023 IIHF Under-18 Women's World Championship

Östersund, Sweden | January 8-15

The 2023 IIHF Under-18 Women's World Championship took place January 8-15, 2023, in Östersund, Sweden.

Team USA took the ice with Canada, Finland, and Sweden in Group A, while Czechia, Slovakia, Switzerland, and Japan competed in Group B.  

The U.S. opened competition with a 3-1 record, defeating Sweden, 6-3 and Finland, 8-1, before falling to Canada, 3-1, in the final preliminary-round game. 

In the semifinals, the U.S. fell to Sweden, 2-1, before topping Finland, 5-0, to take home bronze. 

In total, Team USA has medaled in every IIHF Under-18 Women's World Championship competed, making the gold medal game, 14 of the last 15 years. Team USA has won gold eight times (2020, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2011, 2009, 2008), silver six times (2022, 2019, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2010) and bronze once (2023).

U18 Women's Worlds History

2023 U18 WWC Roster

Team USA Schedule

Team USA Schedule & Results

Date Opponent/Round Result Location Player of the Game
Wed., Jan. 4 Sweden
Pre-Tournament Game
L, 0-1 NHC Arena
Sundsvall, Sweden
Sun., Jan. 8 Sweden
Preliminary Round
W, 6-3 Östersund Arena
Östersund, Sweden
Maggie Scannell
Mon., Jan. 9 Finland
Preliminary Round
W, 8-1 Östersund Arena
Östersund, Sweden
Maggie Scannell
Wed., Jan. 11 Canada
Preliminary Round
L, 3-1 Östersund Arena
Östersund, Sweden
Joy Dunne
Sat., Jan. 14 Sweden
L, 2-1 Östersund Arena
Östersund, Sweden
Annelies Bergmann
Sun. Jan 15 Finland
Bronze Medal Game
W, 5-0 Östersund Arena
Östersund, Sweden
Ava Lindsay

Latest News | U18 Women's Worlds

Head coach of the 2025 Under-18 Women's World Championship Liz Keady Norton stands behind the bench, overlooking the ice.,
Maggie Scannell and Josie St. Martin at the 2024 IIHF Under-18 Women's World Championship