skip navigation

Defending Their Ice: The Story of the U.S. Women's National Team

Defending Their Ice logo appears in large black text. The image also has skates on the ice on the right side of the graphic.

Produced by USA Hockey and RightHand, Defending Their Ice: The Story Of The U.S. Women’s National Team, will give viewers an inside look at how the top women’s hockey players in the world are preparing to defend their world championship title on home soil. 

The 30-minute episodes will dive into different aspects of what it takes to succeed both on and off the ice at the national team level and will offer a behind-the-curtain look at Team USA throughout the entirety of the 2023-24 season, starting from puck drop on game one of the Rivalry Series all the way to the final whistle of the Women’s World Championship in April. 

All six of the 30-minute episodes will air on NHL Network, culminating on April 20. 

Defending Their Ice Airing Schedule

Episode Air Date Time (ET/PT) Network
Episode One - Trailblazers Saturday, March 9 4:30 p.m. /1:30 p.m. NHL Network
Episode Two - Gearing Up Saturday, March 16 5:30 p.m. /2:30 p.m. NHL Network
Episode Three - Icebreakers Saturday, March 23 12 p.m. /9 a.m. NHL Network
Episode Four - A Global Game Saturday, March 30 5:30 p.m. /2:30 p.m. NHL Network
Episode Five - The Chosen Wednesday, April 3 9:30 p.m. /6:30 p.m. NHL Network
Episode Six - On The Brink Of Glory Saturday, April 20 5:30 p.m. /2:30 p.m. NHL Network

*Times subject to change


Defending Their Ice Trailer


2024 Women's Worlds

Find NHL Network