skip navigation

Hlinka Gretzky Cup

About the Hlinka Gretzky Cup

The Hlinka Gretzky Cup is an annual best-on-best under-18 tournament held each August. The competition began in 1991 as the Phoenix Cup, and was renamed the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup in 2007 before becoming the Hlinka-Gretzky Cup in 2018.

All time, the U.S. Under-18 Men's Select Team has won the tournament once (2003), while earning second-place finishes in 2016, 2013, 2010, 2006, 2000, 1996, 1994 and 1993.

The 2017 tournament took place in Breclav, Czechia, and Bratislava, Slovakia, from August 7-12 where the United States finished fifth with a 2-2 record. The U.S. played its preliminary-round games in Breclav alongside Group A members Czechia, Sweden and Switzerland. Eight members of the 2017 U.S. Under-18 Men's Select Team were chosen in the 2018 NHL Entry Draft.

The 2018 tournament will be played Aug. 6-11 in Edmonton and Red Deer, Alberta, with the U.S. competing alongside Canada, Czechia, Finland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden and Switzerland. Team USA will play its preliminary round games in Pool B against Czechia, Finland and Russia.

2018 Hlinka Gretzky Cup

Hlinka Gretzky Cup History

Hlinka Gretzky Cup News