The U.S. women’s ice hockey team has medaled at every Olympic Winter Games since the sport was introduced at the Nagano 1998 Olympic Winter Games, winning one gold (1998), three silvers (2002, 2010, 2014) and one bronze (2006).

The 2018 Olympic Winter Games mark the 20-year anniversary of the sport’s introduction at the Olympics and the gold-medal victory by the United States, setting the stage for a commemorative opportunity to honor the inaugural 1998 team and earn a storybook finish in PyeongChang.

Since falling to Canada, 3-2, in overtime and earning a silver medal at the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games, the U.S. women’s national team has played its rival in seven international tournaments (three International Ice Hockey Federation Women’s World Championships and four Four Nations Cups), winning six of the seven titles and 11 of 14 games overall. Including the pair of exhibition games played in 2016 (part of the Winter Champions Series) and the 2017-18 season, since Sochi, the U.S. has won 12 of 22 games overall against its northern rival. 

In the lead-up to the 2018 Olympics, the U.S. met Canada eight times in games on The Time is Now Tour, presented by Toyota, and in a series of games held in Canada. The U.S. wrapped up its series against Canada on Dec. 17, finishing with a 3-0-2-3-0 (W-OTW-OTL-L-T) record.

Six players on the 2017-18 U.S. Women’s National Team roster have represented Team USA in every international competition since the Sochi Games, including Kacey Bellamy, Kendall Coyne, Brianna Decker, Hilary Knight, Emily Pfalzer and Alex Rigsby.

In Olympic competition, the U.S. has posted a 21-0-2-3-0 (W-OTW-OTL-L-T) overall record. Against opponents qualified for the PyeongChang Games (Canada, Finland, Japan, Korea, Sweden, Switzerland and Russia), the U.S. is 16-0-2-3-0 in past Olympic contests. Team USA is the only squad aside from Canada to have won an Olympic gold medal in women’s ice hockey.

The U.S. has been highly successful over the last few years, earning the No. 1 world ranking by the IIHF. Team USA will field another strong roster in PyeongChang, featuring a mix of veterans and collegiate players, as it has done for its past seven international competitions over the last three seasons.

Robb Stauber, who has been involved with the U.S. Women’s National Ice Hockey Team in varying capacities since 2010, will serve as head coach of the 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team. Stauber has served as head coach of both the 2017-18 U.S. Women’s National Team and the U.S. team that claimed the gold medal at the 2017 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Plymouth, Michigan, this past spring. The Medina, Minnesota, native, who became the first goaltender ever to win the Hobey Baker Memorial Award as the top NCAA Division I men’s ice hockey player in 1988, was an assistant coach for the 2014 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team in Sochi, Russia.


  • Ten players on the 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team are returning Olympians, including several members of the silver medal-winning squad in 2014. Among the group of 2014 returnees are Kacey Bellamy, Kendall Coyne, Brianna Decker, Meghan Duggan, Amanda Kessel, Hilary Knight, Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson, Monique Lamoureux-Morando, Gigi Marvin and Lee Stecklein. Of that group, six are two-time Olympic silver medalists, having also competed in 2010, including Bellamy, Duggan, Knight, Lamoureux-Davidson, Lamoureux-Morando and Marvin.
  • Team USA will feature a changing of the guard in goal at the Olympics for the first time since 2006. Alex Rigsby, who was in final consideration and the last goalie cut in 2014, has been an integral part of U.S. success in international competition since the last Olympics. Rigsby is joined by a pair of young, emerging goaltenders, including Nicole Hensley, who turned in a stand-out performance at the 2017 IIHF Women’s World Championship, and Maddie Rooney, the team’s second-youngest player who helped the U.S. to its third-straight title at the 2017 Four Nations Cup.
  • Kendall Coyne (left wing), Brianna Decker (center) and Hilary Knight (right wing) have consistently played on a line at every event since the 2014 Olympic Winter Games and comprise one of the best lines in women’s hockey. The line accounted for 24 total points during the 2017-18 season. 
  • Meghan Duggan (2011), Brianna Decker (2012), Amanda Kessel (2013) and Kendall Coyne (2016), have won the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, presented annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey.
  • Twin sisters Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson and Monique Lamoureux-Morando have represented Team USA in various tournaments since 2006, including the 2010 and 2014 Olympic Winter Games. They look to help lead the U.S. to gold in 2018.
  • Hannah Brandt will make the trip to PyeongChang where she could have the opportunity to play opposite her adopted older sister, Marissa Brandt, who will skate for the host nation South Korea. Marissa, adopted from South Korea at four months old, grew up playing hockey alongside sister Hannah. It will be the first Olympics for both sisters, after Hannah was one of the final cuts to the 2014 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team.