May 1: Day 3

The U.S. Men's National Team edged host Denmark, 3-2, tonight in its lone exhibition game prior to the 2018 IIHF Men's World Championship here in Herning, Denmark. The game took place at KVIK Hockey Arena, home of the Herning Blue Fox.

RECAP: USA 3, DEN 2 (Exhibition)
Will Butcher (Sun Prairie, Wis.) collected a goal and two assists as the 2018 U.S. Men's National Team earned a 3-2 victory over Denmark in its lone exhibition game ahead of the 2018 IIHF Men's World Championship. Dylan Larkin (Waterford, Mich.) tallied the eventual game-winning goal with Patrick Kane (Buffalo, N.Y.) and Butcher tallying assists. Cam Atkinson (Riverside, Conn.), who scored Team USA's second goal off a deflection, was named the U.S. Player of the Game.

Earlier today, Chicago Blackhawks forward Alex DeBrincat (Farmington Hills, Mich.) joined Team USA here in Herning, Denmark. In his NHL rookie season this year, DeBrincat tallied three hat tricks to set a new Blackhawks rookie record and tie Tony Granato, brother of assistant coach Don and head coach of the 2018 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team, for most hat tricks by a U.S born rookie in a season.

Joining Patrick Kane (Buffalo, N.Y.) in Team USA's leadership core is forward Dylan Larkin (Waterford, Mich.) and defenseman Connor Murphy (Dublin, Ohio). A year ago, Murphy captained Team USA while Larkin also served as an alternate captain. The duo were members of the 2015 U.S. Men's National Team that claimed a bronze medal in Ostrava and Prague, Czech Republic.

Five players, including goaltenders Scott Darling (Lemont, Ill.) and Charlie Lindgren (Lakeville, Minn.); defenseman Jordan Oesterle (Dearborn Heights, Mich.) and forwards Blake Coleman (Plano, Texas) and Brian Gibbons (Braintree, Mass.) will be making their international debuts at the 2018 IIHF Men’s World Championship. Additionally, defensemen Nick Jensen (St. Paul, Minn.), Alec Martinez (Rochester Hills, Much.) and Neal Pionk (Germantown, Minn.) as well as forward Derek Ryan (Spokane, Wash.) will be skating in an International Ice Hockey Federation tournament for the first time after previously skating on U.S. select teams.