skip navigation

Gaudreau, Hanifin, Ryan Added To 2019 U.S. Men's National Team

By USA Hockey, 04/26/19, 3:15PM EDT


Play begins in IIHF Men's World Championship May 10

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Hockey announced today the addition of forwards Johnny Gaudreau (Salem, N.J./Calgary Flames/Boston College) and Derek Ryan (Spokane, Wash./Calgary Flames), as well as defenseman Noah Hanifin (Norwood, Mass./Calgary Flames/Boston College) to the roster of the U.S. Men's National Team that will compete in the 2019 International Ice Hockey Federation Men's World Championship, May 10-26, in Kosice and Bratislava, Slovakia.

Each of the three have contributed to medal-winning teams for the U.S. on the international stage previously, with Gaudreau and Ryan part of the bronze medal-winning 2018 U.S. Men's National Team; Hanifin helping the U.S. to the gold medal at the 2014 IIHF World Junior Championship and Gaudreau a member of the gold medal-winning 2013 U.S. National Junior Team.

The U.S. has medaled in three of the last six IIHF Men's World Championships (bronze in 2013, 2015, 2018), its best medal stretch since the 1950s. 

Team USA's roster now includes 20 players, with three goaltenders, five defensemen and 12 forwards. The IIHF allows each federation to have up to 25 players (22 skaters, 3 goaltenders).

Roster Overview

  • Averages: Height: 6-1, Weight: 195
  • 12 first-round NHL Draft picks
  • 44 total medals won in world championship play, including 17 golds
  • 6,946 NHL regular-season games played over parts of 111 NHL seasons
  • 13 players (12 full-time) have been part of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program, including Cory Schneider, Thatcher Demko, Quinn Hughes, Brady Skjei, Ryan Suter, Jack Eichel, Patrick Kane, Clayton Keller, Dylan Larkin, James van Riemsdyk, Colin White, Frank Vatrano, Noah Hanifin
  • Ryan Suter has represented the U.S. on the international stage 11 previous times, the most of any player, while James van Riemsdyk has appeared in eight previous events and Patrick Kane seven
  • All but Luke Glendening have played on international stage for U.S. previously
  • 9 players return from last year's bronze medal-winning U.S. Men's National Team including Alex DeBrincat, Quinn Hughes, Patrick Kane, Chris Kreider, Dylan Larkin, Alec Martinez, Colin White, Johnny Gaudreau, and Derek Ryan. A total of 16 players have previously played in the IIHF Men's World Championship
  • The 17 players come from nine different states with Massachusetts (6), Michigan (4) and New Jersey (3) leading the way
  • A total of 17 players have competed in college hockey in the U.S., led by six players from Boston College, three from the University of Michigan and two from Boston University

U.S. Game Schedule

Date Opponent/Round Time (Local/ET)/Result Location Television U.S. Player of the Game
Tues., May 7 Germany
W, 5-2 SAP Arena
Mannheim, Germany
Live Stream Johnny Gaudreau
Fri., May 10 Slovakia
L, 1-4 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Jack Eichel
Sun., May 12 France
W, 7-1 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Alex DeBrincat
Mon., May 13 Finland
OTW, 3-2 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Brady Skjei
Wed., May 15 Great Britain
W, 6-3 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Patrick Kane
Sat., May 18 Denmark
W, 7-1 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Dylan Larkin
Sun., May 19 Germany
W, 3-1 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Alec Martinez
Tues., May 21 Canada
L, 0-3 Steel Arena
Kosice, Slovakia
NHL Network Cory Schneider
Thurs., May 23 Russia
L, 3-4 Ondrej Nepela Arena
Bratislava, Slovakia
NHL Network Jack Hughes

NOTES: Patrick Kane will serve as captain of the 2019 U.S. Men's National Team. Kane also was the captain of the bronze medal-winning 2018 U.S. Men's National Team ... NHL Network is the exclusive U.S. television home of the IIHF Men's World Championship and all U.S. games will be available live ... The staff and players of the 2019 U.S. Men's National Team are selected by Chris Drury (New York Rangers), general manager of the 2019 U.S. Men's National Team, along with members of the U.S. Men's National Team Advisory Group including David Poile (Nashville Predators), Don Waddell (Carolina Hurricanes), Ray Shero (New Jersey Devils), Stan Bowman (Chicago Blackhawks), Dale Tallon (Florida Panthers), Jeff Gorton (New York Rangers) and Paul Fenton (Minnesota Wild). John Vanbiesbrouck, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey, leads the U.S. Men's National Team Advisory Group ... For complete coverage of the U.S. Men’s National Team, visit … The official IIHF home of the 2019 IIHF Men’s World Championship is … USA Hockey's international council, chaired by Gavin Regan (Potsdam, N.Y.), has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams.

2019 U.S. Roster

Sights & Sounds

IIHF Tournament Website

U.S. Men's Worlds History

More Team USA News

Peterson Named GM of 2024 U.S. Men’s National Team

By USA Hockey 11/16/2023, 11:45am EST

2024 IIHF Men’s World Championship Set For May 10-26 in Czechia

Follow along with Team USA's journey at the 2023 IIHF Men's World Championship

U.S. Drops 4-3 Overtime Decision to Latvia at Men’s Worlds

By USA Hockey 05/28/2023, 11:45am EDT

Team wins eight of 10 games in tournament with only two losses in OT

Leetch Inducted Into IIHF Hall of Fame

By USA Hockey 05/28/2023, 6:15am EDT

Connecticut Native One of Greatest Defesementt of all Time

GAME DAY | U.S. Goes For Bronze Sunday Against Latvia

By USA Hockey 05/27/2023, 8:45pm EDT

Opening faceoff set for 8:20 a.m. ET live on NHL Network