skip navigation

2013 IIHF World Jr. Championship in Review

By, 01/14/13, 4:15PM EST


The United States captured its third gold medal at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship. Team USA has finished atop the podium in three of the last 10 tournaments. During that span, the U.S. also won a pair of bronze medals in 2007 and 2011.

In the 37-year history of the IIHF World Junior Championship, Team USA has garnered eight medals (3 gold, 1 silver, 4 bronze).

U.S. Medals at the IIHF World Junior Championship

Year Medal Coach
2013 Gold Phil Housley
2011 Bronze Keith Allain
2010 Gold Dean Blais
2007 Bronze Ron Rolston
2004 Gold Mike Eaves
1997 Silver Jeff Jackson
1992 Bronze Walt Kyle
1986 Bronze Dave Peterson

Coach Housley Recaps WJC

Jake McCabe Recaps WJC