skip navigation

Groups Announced For Helsinki 2016

By, 01/08/15, 12:15PM EST


Team USA draws Group A with gold medalist Canada

The International Ice Hockey Federation has announced the groups for the 2016 World Junior Championship that will take place in Helsinki, Finland, from Dec. 25, 2015 to Jan. 5, 2016.

The U.S. will face gold medalist Canada along with Sweden, Denmark and Switzerland in Group A at Helsinki Ice Hall. Home of IFK Helsinki, the 8,200-seat venue has hosted the World Juniors four times before, in 1980, 1985, 1990 and 2004. It has also hosted the IIHF Men’s World Championship three times, in 1974, 1982 and 1991.

In Group B, host Finland will join silver medalist Russia, bronze medalist Slovakia, Czech Republic and Belarus at Hartwall Arena. The arena, which seats 13,665, co-hosted the IIHF Men’s World Championship in 2012 and 2013, and is the home arena of Jokerit Helsinki, will be the main venue. It also hosted the world championship in 1997 and 2003 and the World Juniors in 1998. 

The two biggest ice rinks in the Finnish capital, Helsinki Ice Hall and Hartwall Arena are within walking distance making it possible for spectators to attend games in both arenas on the same day.

Ticket sales for the 2016 IIHF World Junior Championship are expected to start in spring 2015.

The event website is already available and can be accessed in English and Finnish.

More World Juniors News

Team USA Group Schedule

Date Opponent
Dec. 26 Canada
Dec. 28 Sweden
Dec. 30 Switzerland
Dec. 31 Denmark

Popular This Week

Pride Tape Helps Josh Pauls Support Inclusion

By Heather Rule 06/14/2024, 1:30pm EDT

The U.S. National Sled Hockey Team captain focused on making sure the team’s locker room is a safe space.

John Hynes Named Assistant Coach for 4 Nations Face-Off

By USA Hockey 06/11/2024, 12:00pm EDT

Event Set for Feb. 12-20, 2025, in Montreal and Boston

Tickets to all games on sale now; USA, Canada, Finland, Sweden to participate