For standout women’s hockey player Melissa Samoskevich, playing for Team USA carries the same weight as representing her hometown of Sandy Hook, Connecticut.
“I grew up [in Sandy Hook]. It’s where I’m from. It’s my home roots,” Samoskevich said. “The USA Hockey jersey, when I’m wearing it, you have to represent where you’re from, always.”
Samoskevich attended Shattuck St. Mary’s School, the Minnesota-based prep power that has produced countless hockey stars, including Zach Parise and Amanda Kessel. Samoskevich was on a bus in 2012, en route to Chicago for a tournament, when she first heard of the tragedy that affected her Connecticut hometown. Her main worry at the time was the whereabouts of younger twin siblings, a brother and sister named Mackie and Madison, who were at a nearby middle school when the elementary school shooting took place.
“The whole incident definitely brought the town closer,” Samoskevich said. “It was hard not being there. I didn’t know what school it was; I didn’t know where my siblings were. It’s crazy how it happened, and it shows you that anything can happen at any time of day.”
It also affected her future.
The 18-year-old Samoskevich scored 56 goals in 50 games as a senior at Shattuck St. Mary’s. She was named USA Today girls’ hockey national player of the year and could’ve attended just about any college after receiving offers from all the top hockey programs in the country.
“I looked everywhere,” Samoskevich said. “I knew I didn’t want to go to the Midwest. I liked it a lot, but that would be a lot on me and my family.”
She chose Quinnipiac University, an emerging program that reached the NCAA Tournament for the first time last season. It’s also 45 minutes from her hometown of Sandy Hook.
“It has been great,” said Samoskevich, now a freshman at the Connecticut school. “I love being close to home. It’s really nice. I get to see my family a lot. I get to see my brother and sister play; they’re 13 now, and I never got to see them play except for when they were real little. It’s nice to have a good home-cooked meal every once in awhile too.”
Quinnipiac felt like home from the start for Samoskevich.
“Other athletes would say, ‘You’re going to know the right school,’” Samoskevich said. “I looked everywhere, but right when I stepped on campus [at Quinnipiac], I knew it was the place. It just felt right.”
It has also helped her hockey career, too. Samoskevich spends three to four hours daily at the rink training with her teammates on the ice and in the gym. Her time at Shattuck helped with the adjustment to college, but nothing could fully prepare her for the speed of the college game and the top athletes she competes against every day.
“That’s a big difference,” Samoskevich said. “It’s a totally different ballpark. I love it, and it reminds me of USA Hockey tournaments because every game meant something and it was so intense, and that’s how it is [at Quinnipiac].”
Samoskevich scored six goals, helping the U.S. National Women’s Under-18 Team win the gold medal during the 2015 IIHF Under-18 Women’s World Championships. She was also part of the silver medal-winning team in 2014 and has participated in one Under-22 Series against Canada and with three Under-18 teams.
“It’s indescribable to wear the USA Hockey jersey,” Samoskevich said. “It’s surreal just to think that I have the chance to do this. Anytime you get the chance, you have to take advantage of it.”
Samoskevich has taken full advantage of the opportunity not just to represent her country but also her hometown.
“They’re both an honor,” Samoskevich said. “It’s an honor to represent both.”
Story from Red Line Editorial, Inc.
QUESTION: I bought a brand new helmet and the HECC sticker on the back of the helmet says it is good until 2021. It has never been used so can I use it in a game, or is there a way to get a new certification?
ANSWER: A helmet with an expired HECC Sticker is not legal for use in Youth/Girls, High School, and Junior USA Hockey games. Since the certification relates to the age and integrity of the materials used to make the helmet, there is no way to renew certification. The purpose of HECC Certification Stickers and dates is to ensure youth players don’t wear ten-year old helmets.
QUESTION: The goalie has been pulled. If the opposing team scores a goal on the empty net, while there is an attacking player in the crease, should the goal be allowed?
ANSWER: The Goalkeeper’s Crease exists to protect the Goalkeeper while he/she is positioned in front of the goal. Therefore, this crease and its restrictions to attacking players disappears once the goalkeeper leaves the crease.
QUESTION: Player A accidentally high-sticks Player B resulting in a cut with blood. I assessed a major but no game misconduct as it was an accident and the guy went to help Player A immediately to make sure he was ok. I have seen high-sticks called without blood or injury as a minor, and double-minors for blood. The rule states "major plus game misconduct" for any injury. Is that correct in any situation regarding blood?
ANSWER: Rule 621(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“A major plus a game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to any player who injures an opponent as a result of high sticking.”
There is no alternate interpretation to this rule. If the contact results in a cut, a 5+GM must be assessed.
QUESTION: A goaltender continually knocks the net off the goal line by pushing her skate off of the post. It was clear she was not doing this intentionally, but it was excessive. The opposing bench complained and requested that I (as the referee) give her a warning. The action ceased after the warning. If it had not ceased, would I have been correct in assessing a delay of game penalty? The action was resulting in an unfair advantage gained by the defending goaltender.
ANSWER: Strictly speaking, there is no rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that mandates a penalty if a goalkeeper accidentally knocks the net off from its proper position. One option to prevent repeated incidents is to speak with both benches and see if they agree to place anchor pins in the goal (unless they are already there). Aside from that, the officials can only assess a penalty if the goalkeeper deliberately knocks the net off.
QUESTION: If opposing player has the puck and defender hooks the opposing players stick over the top to take away the puck, is that a hooking penalty? If defender lifts the opposing players stick with his stick to take away the puck, is that a hooking penalty. Is there a difference between the defender just hooking the stick to impede the opposing player from playing the puck and hooking the stick to try to get the puck?
ANSWER: Stick-lifts” (hooking underneath and lifting the stick) and “Stick-presses” (pressing the stick down on top of an opponent's stick) are legal defensive plays as long as they are executed on the lower portion of the opponent’s stick (near the blade). Any stick contact that occurs near the opponent's gloves should be penalized as Hooking.
QUESTION: How do you know were to do the face-off after a stoppage?