skip navigation

Meghan Duggan Named Captain for USWNT

By USAHockey.com, 03/02/16, 1:00PM MST

Share

Kacey Bellamy and Monique Lamoureux Will Serve as Alternate Captains

Meghan Duggan (Danvers, Mass.) has been named captain of the U.S. Women's National Team that will compete at the 2016 International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship from March 28-April 4, in Kamloops, British Columbia, it was announced today by USA Hockey. In addition, Kacey Bellamy (Westfield, Mass.) and Monique Lamoureux (Grand Fork, N.D.) will serve as alternate captains.

"Meghan has been a valuable leader in the past and will continue to set a great example for our team during this tournament," said Ken Klee, head coach of the 2016 U.S. Women's National Team. "All three of our captains provide the necessary characteristics and perspective that are essential to having a successful team."

Duggan most recently served as team captain at the 2015 Four Nations Cup and previously served in that capacity for the U.S. at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games, 2011 Four Nations Cup and 2008 Under-22 Series. She has also been an alternate captain at the 2013 IIHF Women’s World Championship and 2012 Four Nations Cup.

A two-time silver-medalist at the Olympic Winter Games (2010, 2014), Duggan has represented the U.S. Women’s National Team in six IIHF Women’s World Championships (gold-2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015; silver-2007), eight Four Nations Cups (1st-2008, 2011, 2012, 2015; 2nd-2007, 2009, 2010; 3rd-2013) and one IIHF Twelve Nations Invitational Tournament Series (2011).

Bellamy is appearing in her seventh IIHF Women's World Championship, while Lamoureux is competing in her sixth.

Click here for the full U.S. Women's National Team roster, which was announced February 24.

NOTES: The U.S. Women's National Team will take part in a pre-tournament camp at XFINITY Arena in Everett, Washington, March 18-24. The U.S. will open the IIHF Women's World Championship against Canada at 10:30 p.m. ET on March 28. The U.S. is the defending champion and has won the last two world championships and five of the last six world championships (2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015).

Most Popular Articles

2020-21 ATO SEASON: WEEK 12

By USA Hockey 11/20/2020, 8:00am EST

QUESTION: I bought a brand new helmet and the HECC sticker on the back of the helmet says it is good until 2021. It has never been used so can I use it in a game, or is there a way to get a new certification?

ANSWERA helmet with an expired HECC Sticker is not legal for use in Youth/Girls, High School, and Junior USA Hockey games. Since the certification relates to the age and integrity of the materials used to make the helmet, there is no way to renew certification. The purpose of HECC Certification Stickers and dates is to ensure youth players don’t wear ten-year old helmets.

 

QUESTION: The goalie has been pulled. If the opposing team scores a goal on the empty net, while there is an attacking player in the crease, should the goal be allowed?

ANSWERThe Goalkeeper’s Crease exists to protect the Goalkeeper while he/she is positioned in front of the goal. Therefore, this crease and its restrictions to attacking players disappears once the goalkeeper leaves the crease.

 

QUESTION: Player A accidentally high-sticks Player B resulting in a cut with blood. I assessed a major but no game misconduct as it was an accident and the guy went to help Player A immediately to make sure he was ok. I have seen high-sticks called without blood or injury as a minor, and double-minors for blood. The rule states "major plus game misconduct" for any injury. Is that correct in any situation regarding blood?

ANSWERRule 621(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
 
“A major plus a game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to any player who injures an opponent as a result of high sticking.”
 
There is no alternate interpretation to this rule. If the contact results in a cut, a 5+GM must be assessed.

 

QUESTION: A goaltender continually knocks the net off the goal line by pushing her skate off of the post. It was clear she was not doing this intentionally, but it was excessive. The opposing bench complained and requested that I (as the referee) give her a warning. The action ceased after the warning. If it had not ceased, would I have been correct in assessing a delay of game penalty? The action was resulting in an unfair advantage gained by the defending goaltender.

ANSWERStrictly speaking, there is no rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that mandates a penalty if a goalkeeper accidentally knocks the net off from its proper position. One option to prevent repeated incidents is to speak with both benches and see if they agree to place anchor pins in the goal (unless they are already there). Aside from that, the officials can only assess a penalty if the goalkeeper deliberately knocks the net off.

 

QUESTION: If opposing player has the puck and defender hooks the opposing players stick over the top to take away the puck, is that a hooking penalty? If defender lifts the opposing players stick with his stick to take away the puck, is that a hooking penalty. Is there a difference between the defender just hooking the stick to impede the opposing player from playing the puck and hooking the stick to try to get the puck?

ANSWERStick-lifts” (hooking underneath and lifting the stick) and “Stick-presses” (pressing the stick down on top of an opponent's stick) are legal defensive plays as long as they are executed on the lower portion of the opponent’s stick (near the blade). Any stick contact that occurs near the opponent's gloves should be penalized as Hooking.

 

QUESTION: How do you know were to do the face-off after a stoppage?

ANSWERFace-off Locations are outlined in Rule 612 and respective Casebook Situations of the USA Hockey Playing Rules.

A New Approach to Goaltender Development

By USA Hockey 04/13/2021, 1:30pm EDT

On a mission to make every coach a goalie coach

The netminder is putting up dominant numbers for the NAHL’s best team