USA Hockey announced today that six players and four staff members will participate in the 2016 International Ice Hockey Federation Women’s High-Performance Camp from July 9-16 at the Sport Institute of Finland in Vierumaki, Finland. The camp provides select players from 15 nations with a training program that creates the proper environment for success as elite women's ice hockey players, both on and off the ice.
The U.S. players are forwards Rebecca Gilmore (Wayland, Mass.) and Natalie Snodgrass (Eagan, Minn.); defensemen Grace Bowlby (Edina, Minn.) and Makayla Langei (East Grand Forks, Minn.); and goaltenders Morgan Fisher (Vernon, Conn.) and Beth Larcom (Middletown, R.I.).
On behalf of USA Hockey, athlete ambassadors Molly Engstrom (Siren, Wis.) and Lyndsey Fry (Chandler, Ariz.), strength and conditioning coach Jill Zeller (Newton, Mass.) and athletic trainer Deven Alves (Pepperell, Mass.) will take part in the mentoring program. Engstrom and Fry were members of the U.S. Women's National Team and represented the U.S. at the Winter Olympic Games in 2010 (Engstrom) and 2014 (Fry). Zeller, a strength coach for Boston University, has been involved with Team USA since 2012, working various camps and tournaments. Alves, the head athletic trainer with the Tucson Roadrunners of the American Hockey League, has worked with USA Hockey at select camps over the past few seasons, including the 2015 IIHF High-Performance Camp that was hosted in Lake Placid, New York.
NOTES: Reagan Carey (Colorado Springs, Colo.), USA Hockey's director of women's hockey, serves on the IIHF Women's Committee, which initiated the High Performance Camp. For complete camp details, click here.
QUESTION: I bought a brand new helmet and the HECC sticker on the back of the helmet says it is good until 2021. It has never been used so can I use it in a game, or is there a way to get a new certification?
ANSWER: A helmet with an expired HECC Sticker is not legal for use in Youth/Girls, High School, and Junior USA Hockey games. Since the certification relates to the age and integrity of the materials used to make the helmet, there is no way to renew certification. The purpose of HECC Certification Stickers and dates is to ensure youth players don’t wear ten-year old helmets.
QUESTION: The goalie has been pulled. If the opposing team scores a goal on the empty net, while there is an attacking player in the crease, should the goal be allowed?
ANSWER: The Goalkeeper’s Crease exists to protect the Goalkeeper while he/she is positioned in front of the goal. Therefore, this crease and its restrictions to attacking players disappears once the goalkeeper leaves the crease.
QUESTION: Player A accidentally high-sticks Player B resulting in a cut with blood. I assessed a major but no game misconduct as it was an accident and the guy went to help Player A immediately to make sure he was ok. I have seen high-sticks called without blood or injury as a minor, and double-minors for blood. The rule states "major plus game misconduct" for any injury. Is that correct in any situation regarding blood?
ANSWER: Rule 621(b) in the USA Hockey Playing Rules states,
“A major plus a game misconduct penalty shall be assessed to any player who injures an opponent as a result of high sticking.”
There is no alternate interpretation to this rule. If the contact results in a cut, a 5+GM must be assessed.
QUESTION: A goaltender continually knocks the net off the goal line by pushing her skate off of the post. It was clear she was not doing this intentionally, but it was excessive. The opposing bench complained and requested that I (as the referee) give her a warning. The action ceased after the warning. If it had not ceased, would I have been correct in assessing a delay of game penalty? The action was resulting in an unfair advantage gained by the defending goaltender.
ANSWER: Strictly speaking, there is no rule in the USA Hockey Playing Rules that mandates a penalty if a goalkeeper accidentally knocks the net off from its proper position. One option to prevent repeated incidents is to speak with both benches and see if they agree to place anchor pins in the goal (unless they are already there). Aside from that, the officials can only assess a penalty if the goalkeeper deliberately knocks the net off.
QUESTION: If opposing player has the puck and defender hooks the opposing players stick over the top to take away the puck, is that a hooking penalty? If defender lifts the opposing players stick with his stick to take away the puck, is that a hooking penalty. Is there a difference between the defender just hooking the stick to impede the opposing player from playing the puck and hooking the stick to try to get the puck?
ANSWER: Stick-lifts” (hooking underneath and lifting the stick) and “Stick-presses” (pressing the stick down on top of an opponent's stick) are legal defensive plays as long as they are executed on the lower portion of the opponent’s stick (near the blade). Any stick contact that occurs near the opponent's gloves should be penalized as Hooking.
QUESTION: How do you know were to do the face-off after a stoppage?