skip navigation

2016-17 U.S. Natl Sled Hockey Team Roster Unveiled

By, 07/21/16, 3:00PM EDT


14 Players Return from 2016 Team; 2016-17 Developmental Roster Also Named

USA Hockey announced today the 17-player roster for the 2016-17 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. The group includes 14 returnees from the 2016 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team that captured the 2016 World Sled Hockey Challenge in Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, and the 2016 International Paralympic Committee Pan-Pacific Championship in Buffalo, New York.

"The competition at tryouts this past weekend was tremendous and demonstrated the fact that clubs across the country are doing an excellent job developing quality players," said Dan Brennan, director of inline and sled hockey for USA Hockey and the general manager of the 2016-17 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. "While the depth we have made finalizing our rosters difficult, we're excited about the players chosen to represent the United States this upcoming season."

Story continues after jump

2016-17 National Team Roster

2016-17 Developmental Roster

Goaltender Steve Cash (Overland, Mo.), who backtopped the U.S. to two Paralympic gold medals (2010, 2014) and three IPC Sled Hockey World Championship gold medals (2009, 2012, 2015), is back for his 12th season. Joining him in the crease will be Bo Reichenbach (Billings, Mont.) who returns for his second campaign with the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. 

On defense, Team USA welcomes back Tyler Carron (Fort Collins, Colo.), Billy Hanning (Festus, Mo.) and two-time Paralympic gold medalists Nikko Landeros (Johnstown, Colo.) and  Josh Pauls (Green Brook, N.J.).

Eight forwards return from the 2015-16 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team, including a pair of players who set U.S. records last season. Declan Farmer (Tampa, Fla.), named to his fifth national team, tied the U.S. record for most goals in a season when he scored 11 times in nine games, while eight-year veteran Adam Page (Lancaster, N.Y.) tallied five goals last season and now ranks first all-time with 38 career goals. The two are joined by  Chris Douglas (Saint Cloud, Fla.), Luke McDermott (Westerlo, N.Y.), Kevin McKee (Chicago, Ill.), Rico Roman (Portland, Ore.), Brody Roybal (Northlake, Ill.) and Paul Schaus (Buffalo, N.Y.).

Highlighting the three additions for the 2016-17 roster is forward Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa), who returns for his seventh campaign with Team USA and first since captaining Team USA to the gold medal at the 2014 Paralympic Winter Games in Sochi, Russia. Joining Yohe as newcomers for the upcoming season are forward Noah Grove (Frederick, Md.) and defenseman Jack Wallace (Franklin Lakes, N.J.), both of whom will be making their national team debuts after spending the last two seasons together with the U.S. Developmental Sled Hockey Team. 

Jeff Sauer (Madison, Wis.) enters his sixth season as head coach of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. Under his tutelage, Team USA has claimed seven major international championships, including five straight titles, while compiling a 47-4-2-12 (W-OTW-OTL-L) record.

The roster for the 2016-17 U.S. Developmental Sled Hockey Team was determined today as well. The squad, which trains regularly with the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team, will once again be coached by Mike MacMillan (Buffalo, Minn.), USA Hockey's national coach-in-chief.

NOTES: Labatt USA is a proud sponsor of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team ... Andy Yohe (Bettendorf, Iowa) was the 2014 recipient of the Bob Johnson Award winner, which recognizes excellence in international ice hockey competition during a specific season of play ... Dan Brennan (Colorado Springs, Colo.), director of sled and inline national teams for USA Hockey, is serving as the general manager of the 2016-17 U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. Additional staff members include team physician Mike Uihlein (Grafton, Wis.), athletic trainer Mike Cortese (Boynton Beach, Fla.) and equipment manager Joel Isaacson (Houghton, Mich.) ... Jeremy Kennedy(Colorado Springs, Colo.), USA Hockey manager of membership and disabled hockey, is the general manager of the 2015-16 U.S. National Developmental Sled Hockey Team. Mike MacMillan (Buffalo, Minn.), USA Hockey's national coach-in-chief, is the head coach of the U.S. National Developmental Sled Team and will be joined by associate head coach Kip St. Germaine (East Falmouth, Mass.) and assistant coaches Mike Blabac (Hamburg, N.Y.) and Craig Brady(Norwood, Mass.), all former U.S. National Sled Hockey Team members. Additional staff members include physiotherapist Rett Talbot (Delray Beach, Fla.) and equipment manager Bill Sandberg (Parker, Colo.).

About Sled Hockey

Connect With Us

Sled Hockey News

Popular Team USA Articles

Pride Tape Helps Josh Pauls Support Inclusion

By Heather Rule 06/14/2024, 1:30pm EDT

The U.S. National Sled Hockey Team captain focused on making sure the team’s locker room is a safe space.

John Hynes Named Assistant Coach for 4 Nations Face-Off

By USA Hockey 06/11/2024, 12:00pm EDT

Event Set for Feb. 12-20, 2025, in Montreal and Boston

Tickets to all games on sale now; USA, Canada, Finland, Sweden to participate