skip navigation

U.S. Nat'l Sled Team Coach Sauer Tabbed for UW Hall of Fame

By, 08/29/16, 4:30PM EDT


Sauer, whose led Team USA to five straight int'l championships, to be inducted Friday, Sept. 16

Jeff Sauer (Madison, Wis.), current head coach of the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team, has been named to the University of Wisconsin Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2016, it was announced today by the university. 

Sauer’s time at Wisconsin saw the Badgers men’s ice hockey team claim two national titles (1983, 1990), five Western Collegiate Hockey Association playoff titles and two WCHA regular-season titles along with three NCAA Men’s Frozen Four appearances and 12 NCAA tournament berths. Sauer, whose 489 victories with the Badgers are the most by a UW coach in any sport, joined the Badgers after 11 seasons at his alma mater, Colorado College, and ranks 10th all-time in NCAA wins with 655. 

Inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2014, Sauer is entering his sixth straight campaign with the U.S. National Sled Hockey Team. Since first taking the helm in 2011, Sauer has guided Team USA to a 47-4-2-12 (W-OTW-OTL-L) record that includes reaching the championship game of every major international competition and titles in seven events, including five straight championships. 

Throughout his career, Sauer has coached a wide array of U.S. teams. He was the head coach of the U.S. Men’s National Team at the 1995 International Ice Hockey Federation Men’s World Championship in Stockholm, Sweden, and at the 1990 Goodwill Games in Seattle, Washington. He also led the U.S. Men’s Select Team at the 1989 Pravda Cup in Leningrad, Soviet Union, and at the 1997 Tampere Cup in Tampere, Finland. In addition, Sauer has served as head coach of the last four U.S. Deaflympic Ice Hockey Teams, where he has helped guide them to two medals (gold: 2007, bronze: 2015). 

Joining Sauer in the Class of 2016 will be Bruce Driver, John Easker, Lee Evans, Tom Grantham, Rick Lawing, Kari Maijala, and Kirk Penney, who will officially inducted in a ceremony held at Union South on Friday, Sept. 16. The group will also be recognized at halftime of the Badgers' football game vs. Georgia State the following day at Camp Randall Stadium.

Read More

About Sled Hockey

2016-17 National Team Roster

National Team History


Connect With Us

Sled Hockey News

Popular Team USA Articles

Mac Swanson Added to 2022 U.S. Junior Select Team

By USA Hockey 12/02/2022, 2:00pm EST

World Junior A Challenge set for Dec. 11-18 in Dawson Creek, British Columbia

U.S. looking to capture seventh consecutive Para Hockey Cup title; puck drops at 3 p.m. ET

Team USA Wins Para Hockey Cup with 5-1 Victory over Canada

By USA Hockey 12/03/2022, 5:15pm EST

Four-goal third period propels Team USA to its seventh straight championship title