skip navigation

GAMEDAY: U.S. Plays Russia in Semifinal at U18WWC

By, 01/13/17, 4:30AM EST


Watch live at 10 a.m. ET at

SEMIFINAL GAME DAY: The 2017 U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team will play Russia today at 10 a.m. ET in semifinal play at Prerov Arena. The match-up will be streamed live at U.S. finished the preliminary round in second place in Group A with a 2-0-1-0 (W-OTW-OTL-L) record to advance directly to the semifinal round.

ROAD TO THE SEMIS: The U.S. opened the 2017 International Ice Hockey Federation Women’s Under-18 World Championship with a 6-1 victory over Russia on Saturday (January 7) and a 4-0 win over Sweden on Sunday (January 8). The U.S. fell to Canada, 1-0, in overtime on Tuesday. Those games were at PSG Arena in Zlin, Czech Republic.

USA vs. RUSSIA: The U.S. and Russia are meeting for the second time at this year’s tournament and the ninth time overall at the IIHF Under-18 Women’s World Championship. Team USA holds a perfect 8-0-0-0-record against the Russians with the last meeting taking place in the tournament opener on January 7, 2017, where Team USA defeated Russia, 6-1, in the preliminary round of the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship. The U.S. has outscored Russia 68-3 overall.

THE LEADER BOARD: After three games, 14 players have at least one point in the tournament and Cayla Barnes leads Team USA and is tied for second overall with three goals and is tied for third in points (four) with teammate Natalie Heising (2-2).

THE PUCK STOPS HERE: Alex Gulstene has stopped 43 of 45 shots in two games at the 2017 IIHF Under-18 Women’s World Championship and Lindsay Reed made 23 saves for a shutout on Sunday against Sweden. For more on the two goalies, click here.

TEAM USA FIRSTS: Eleven players made their national team debuts in the opening game against Russia on Saturday and four players recorded their first points. Anneke Linser (1-1), Clair DeGeorge (0-1), Delaney Drake (0-1) and Maureen Murphy (1-0). Dominique Petrie (0-1) registered her first point/assist on Sunday versus Sweden.