skip navigation

Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup

About the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup

The Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup is an annual best-on-best under-18 tournament held each August. The competition began in 1991 as the Phoenix Cup, and became the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup in 2007.

All time, the U.S. Under-18 Men's Select Team has won the tournament once (2003), while earning second-place finishes in 2016, 2013, 2010, 2006, 2000, 1996, 1994 and 1993. Entering the 2017 competition, Team USA had finished in the top three at the event in three of the past four years. 

The 2017 tournament took place in Breclav, Czech Republic, and Bratislava, Slovakia, from August 7-12. The U.S. played its preliminary-round games in Breclav alongside Group A members Czech Republic, Sweden and Switzerland. Canada, Finland, Russia and Slovakia were in Group B and competed in Bratislava.

The 2018 tournament will be played Aug. 6-11 in Alberta, Canada, and will be renamed the Hlinka Gretzky Cup.

2017 Ivan Hlinka Cup

Ivan Hlinka Cup History

Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup News