skip navigation

About The Women's World Championship

The U.S. Women's National Team has taken part in the International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship since it began in 1990. The tournament initially took place in 1990, 1992, 1994 and 1997 until it became a sport in the Olympic Winter Games in 1998. Since that time, the IIHF Women's World Championship has taken place annually with the exception of an Olympic year until 2022, when the tournament was held in the Olympic year.

The U.S. has reached the gold medal game in all 22 of the events, capturing the event’s top prize a total of 10 times (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2023).

The 2023 IIHF Women's World Championship took place April 5-16, 2023, in Brampton, Ontario at the CAA Centre. The U.S. captured the gold medal with a 6-3 win over Canada. 

Captain Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho) was Team USA’s Player of the Game in the gold-medal game with three goals, including the game-winner, and became the first player in Women's Worlds history to reach 100 points. Aerin Frankel (Chappaqua, N.Y) made 24 saves en route to the victory. For the full championship recap, click here

Through the 2023 WWC, Team USA now stands at 93-5-8-10-2 (W-OTW-OTL-L-T) in 118 career games, and has outscored its opponents 761-175 all-time.

2023 World Champions

2023 Women's Worlds

Women's Worlds History

Latest News | Women's Worlds

Megan Bozek celebrates after a goal.