skip navigation

About the World Junior Championship

The U.S. National Junior Team is the men's national under-20 ice hockey team that represents the United States at the International Ice Hockey Federation World Under-20 Championship (commonly referred to as the IIHF World Junior Championship). The 10-nation tournament features the world's best men's players under 20 years of age and is a 31-game event that takes place over the course of 10 days.

To date, the U.S. National Junior Team has claimed 13 medals, including five gold medals (2021, 2017, 2013, 2010, 2004), two silver medals (2019, 1997) and six bronze medals (2018, 2016, 2011, 2007, 1992, 1986). Notable players to have skated for the U.S. National Junior Team include Hockey Hall of Fame members Chris Chelios, Phil Housley, Mark Howe, Brian Leetch and Mike Modano, as well as eight first overall NHL Draft picks, including recent first-overall selections Jack Hughes (2019 NHL Draft) and Auston Matthews (2016 NHL Draft).

Most recently, the U.S. National Junior Team claimed gold at the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship with a 2-0 win to close out the tournament on Jan. 5, 2021 in Edmonton.


2022 WJC Home

2021 World Juniors

World Juniors History

World Jr Summer Showcase

World Juniors Features


U.S. Golden in 2021

The Road to 2021 Gold

U.S. Claims Bronze on Home Ice

U.S. Golden at 2017 World Jrs

World Juniors News