skip navigation

Edmonton & Red Deer, Alberta | Dec. 26-Jan. 5

The 2021 International Ice Hockey Federation World Junior Championship will take place in Edmonton and Red Deer, Alberta, from Dec. 26, 2020 through Jan. 5, 2021. 

The 2021 U.S. National Junior Team is set to compete in Group B alongside Russia, Sweden, Czech Republic and Austria. Group A includes Canada, Finland, Switzerland, Slovakia and Germany. The group seeds were based on the final rankings of the 2020 IIHF World Junior Championship.

The United States enters the 2021 IIHF World Junior Championship seeking its fifth medal in six years after earning a record four-consecutive medals: gold in 2017, silver in 2019 and bronze in both 2018 and 2016. To date, the U.S. National Junior Team has claimed 12 medals, including four gold (2017, 2013, 2010, 2004), two silvers (2019, 1997) and six bronze (2018, 2016, 2011, 2007, 1992, 1986).

Group B

Red Deer, Alberta
ENMAX Centrium
Capacity: 7,111

Team 2020 Finish
Russia Silver
Sweden Bronze
United States Sixth
Czech Republic Seventh
Austria Promoted

Group A

Edmonton, Alberta
Rogers Place
Capacity: 18,347

Team 2020 Finish
Canada Gold
Finland Fourth
Switzerland Fifth
Slovakia Eighth
Germany Ninth

2021 IIHF Homepage

World Juniors History

Win a Chance to Attend

World Jr Summer Showcase

World Juniors Features

WJC News