skip navigation

2018 Hlinka Gretzky Cup

Edmonton & Red Deer, Alberta | August 6-11

The 2018 Hlinka Gretzky Cup was played Aug. 6-11 in Edmonton and Red Deer, Alberta, with the U.S. competing alongside Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden and Switzerland. 

All time, the U.S. Under-18 Men's Select Team has won the tournament once (2003), while earning second-place finishes in 2016, 2013, 2010, 2006, 2000, 1996, 1994 and 1993. For Team USA's complete history at the event, click here.

The Hlinka Gretzky Cup is an annual best-on-best under-18 tournament held each August. The competition began in 1991 as the Phoenix Cup, and was renamed the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup in 2007 before becoming the Hlinka Gretzky Cup in 2018.

U.S. Roster

U.S. Stats

U.S. Schedule

Date Opponent Round Time (Local/ET)/Result Location
Sat., Aug. 4 Slovakia Exhibition W, 10-4 Nexsource Arena
Sylvan Lake, Alta.
Mon., Aug. 6 Czech Republic Preliminary W, 6-0 Servus Arena
Red Deer, Alta.
Tues., Aug. 7 Finland Preliminary W, 6-2 Servus Arena
Red Deer, Alta.
Wed., Aug. 8 Russia Preliminary L, 3-8 Servus Arena
Red Deer, Alta.
Fri., Aug. 10 Canada Semifinals OTL, 5-6 Rogers Place
Edmonton, Alta.
Sat., Aug. 11 Russia Third-Place Game L, 4-5 Rogers Place
Edmonton, Alta.

Pics & Vids

Tournament Website

2018 Hlinka Gretzky Cup News