skip navigation

Twenty-Three Players Named to U.S. Women's National Team

By USA Hockey, 05/05/17, 11:15AM EDT


Roster Set for 2017-18 Residency Program in Tampa

TAMPA, Fla. – USA Hockey announced the 23 players named to the 2017-18 U.S. Women's National Team today during a press conference televised live on NHL Network. 

The roster features 21 players who helped the 2017 U.S. Women's National Team earn a gold medal at the International Ice Hockey Federation Women's World Championship in Plymouth, Michigan. It also includes 12 members of the silver medal-winning 2014 U.S. Women's Olympic Ice Hockey Team, including Kacey Bellamy (Westfield, Mass.), Megan Bozek (Buffalo Grove, Ill.), Alex Carpenter (North Reading, Mass.), Kendall Coyne (Palos Heights, Ill.), Brianna Decker (Dousman, Wis.), Meghan Duggan (Danvers, Mass.), Amanda Kessel (Madison, Wis.), Hilary Knight (Sun Valley, Idaho), Jocelyne Lamoureux-Davidson (Grand Forks, N.D.), Monique Lamoureux-Morando (Grand Forks, N.D.), Gigi Marvin (Warroad, Minn.) and Lee Stecklein (Roseville, Minn.).

The 23 players represent 11 different states. Minnesota leads the way with six representatives followed by Massachusetts with four and Wisconsin with three, while Illinois and North Dakota have two. California, Colorado, Idaho, Michigan, New York and Vermont all have one representative.

It was also announced today that starting in September, the players and staff for the 2017-18 U.S. Women's National Team will relocate to the Tampa area to train at Florida Hospital Center Ice in preparation for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea

U.S. Roster

NOTES: The unveiling of the 2017-18 U.S. Women's National Team is the culmination of the U.S. Women's National Team Selection Camp that took place this week in Wesley Chapel, Florida. The ceremony to announce the team today took place at AMALIE Arena in Tampa, Florida, and was hosted by NHL Network's Jamison Coyle during a special edition of “NHL Tonight,” with Steve Mears and E.J. Hradek .... The team will remain in the Tampa area for additional training until May 9 ... A player's selection to the team is contingent upon execution of the National Team Participation Agreement ... Reagan Carey (Colorado Springs, Colo.), USA Hockey's director of women's hockey, is the general manager of the 2017 U.S. Women's National Team and 2018 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team ... Robb Stauber (Medina, Minn.) is the head coach of the 2017 U.S. Women's National Team and 2018 U.S. Olympic Women's Ice Hockey Team ... USA Hockey’s international council, chaired by Gavin Regan (Potsdam, N.Y.), vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams. Details of the pre-Olympic tour will be available in the next few months.

Recent News

Trending Articles