skip navigation

2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup

Piešťany, Slovakia & Břeclav, Czech Republic | August 5-10

The 2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup will be played Aug. 5-10 in Piešťany, Slovakia & Břeclav, Czech Republic, with the U.S. competing alongside Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden and Switzerland. 

All time, the U.S. Under-18 Men's Select Team has won the tournament once (2003), while earning second-place finishes in 2016, 2013, 2010, 2006, 2000, 1996, 1994 and 1993. For Team USA's complete history at the event, click here.

The Hlinka Gretzky Cup is an annual best-on-best under-18 tournament held each August. The competition began in 1991 as the Phoenix Cup, and was renamed the Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup in 2007 before becoming the Hlinka Gretzky Cup in 2018.

2019 U.S. Roster

U.S. Schedule

Date Opponent Round Time (Local/ET)/Result Location
Sat., Aug. 3 Czech Republic Exhibition 6:30 p.m./12:30 p.m. Břeclav, Czech Republic
Mon., Aug. 5 Russia Preliminary 3:30 p.m./9:30 a.m. Piešťany, Slovakia
Tues., Aug. 6 Slovakia Preliminary 7:00 p.m./1:00 p.m. Piešťany, Slovakia
Wed., Aug. 7 Sweden Preliminary 3:30 p.m./9:30 a.m. Piešťany, Slovakia
Fri., Aug. 9 TBD Semifinals 3:30 p.m. or 7:00 p.m. -- 9:30 a.m./1:00 p.m. TBD
Sat., Aug. 10 TBD Third-Place Game 5:00 p.m./11:00 a.m. TBD
TBD Championship Game 5:00 p.m./11:00 a.m. TBD

2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup News