skip navigation

IIHF Women's World Championship Starts Friday

By USA Hockey, 03/29/17, 9:15AM EDT


Tickets Available For All Games; USA-Canada Friday at 7:30 p.m.

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2017 IIHF Women's World Championship begins Friday (March 31) at USA Hockey Arena in the Detroit suburb of Plymouth, Michigan, with athletes from the top eight nations in the world competing for the gold medal.

Tickets to all games in the tournament, which is being staged in the U.S. for just the fourth time, are available online at or in person at the USA Hockey Arena box office.

NHL Network will televise all Team USA games and will stream all Team USA games live, marking more coverage of the tournament than ever before.

Team USA has won the last three gold medals in the event and six of the last seven titles. The U.S. opens tournament play against arch-rival Canada Friday at 7:30 p.m. ET.

"It's great to welcome the world to our country for the Women's World Championship," said Dave Ogrean, executive director of USA Hockey. "While it's always special to host, this year is particularly unique for fans as they'll get to see the same players they'll watch in 10 months during the Winter Olympics, in person at USA Hockey Arena."

For complete coverage of the U.S. Women's National Team, including schedule and news, click here.

NOTES: The eight competing teams include USA, Canada, Russia, Finland, Sweden, Czech Republic, Switzerland and Germany ... The U.S. has previously hosted the tournament in Lake Placid, N.Y. (1994), Minneapolis (2001), and Burlington, Vermont (2012) ... The 2017 IIHF Women's World Championship marks the first-ever IIHF championship played in the state of Michigan.

Date Opponent Round Time (ET)/Result U.S. Player of Game
Fri., March 31 Canada Preliminary W, 2-0 Nicole Hensley
Sat., April 1 Russia Preliminary W, 7-0 Kendall Coyne
Mon., April 3 Finland Preliminary W, 5-3 Hannah Brandt
Thurs., April 6 Germany Semifinal W, 11-0 Kendall Coyne
Fri., April 7 Canada Gold-Medal Game W, 3-2 OT Kacey Bellamy